Loading Events
This event has passed.

Methods Maze: Pointers for Selecting Survival Extrapolation Models for Cancer Immunotherapy

Tuesday, October 6, 2020 at 10:00 AM EDT | 4:00 PM CEST | 3:00 PM BST

Presented by:

Determining reliable estimates of the survival gain offered by new therapies compared to standard of care is a critical component in establishing their incremental cost-effectiveness. Inaccurate results will lead to inappropriate estimates of lifetime health benefit and ultimately sub-optimal healthcare decision-making. New technologies with different mechanisms of action can have distinct and complex patterns of survival bringing new challenges for the assessment of their long-term benefit.

In this webinar, we will be discussing this issue in relation to cancer immunotherapy. An overview of the survival extrapolation methods which could be used for cancer immunotherapies will be presented along with an assessment of their strengths and limitations. Finally, the presenters will provide attendees with some pointers to help with the selection of appropriate survival extrapolation models for these agents.

After attending this webinar, participants will be able to:

  • Understand the pivotal role that survival extrapolation plays in Health Technology Assessment (HTA) and explain the standard approach that is used for this analysis
  • Identify the mechanism of action of cancer immunotherapy and some of the key challenges for estimating the incremental survival gain offered by these agents
  • Identify the different survival extrapolation techniques that could be used in HTA submissions for cancer immunotherapies including their strengths and limitations
  • Provide some pointers on the appropriate selection and validation of survival extrapolation method for this class of drug

Contact Us

Fill in your details to receive the slides from the webinar or send us a question and we will respond shortly